P R O D U C T I O N S

FAQ 
 Search 
 Memberlist 
 Usergroups 
 Register 

The Prog Thread
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nuclear War Now! Productions Forum Index -> Main
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Nekrokunt_Usurper

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 10:55 am    Post subject: The Prog Thread Reply with quote

I'm kind of new to this stuff and I know its been discussed here and there but don't remember a PURE prog thread so might be fun to recommend me some stuff and discuss anything good!

Anyway a few bands I do like are King Crimson, Yes, Hawkwind, Camel, Genesis (early) and ESPECIALLY Rush though I'm no expert so I can't really name many songs. Also no LP player at uni so can't listen to any of this stuff here. Sad

Anyway prog I am especially interested in for me is sort of 'Swords and sorcery' (like Hawkwind's divings into Elric), 'Evil' prog especially but any good prog is cool!
The_Elite

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Comus.

The new Enslaved (Vertabrae) is prog as hell! Pure Rush and Camel vibe all the way through!
Nekrokunt_Usurper

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah have the Comus double CD! Great stuff I must say!

Yeah I do like Enslaved, though to be honest for the sake of this thread I want to be a bit of a prog puritan, y'know, what most people think of when they think of prog!
Devoured Death

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've actually not listened to much metal this last week or so, and have been almost exclusively on a prog binge! Early Camel is one of my all time favourites, I guess, Mike that you are already familiar with the earlier Pink Floyd releases (Ummagumma to Meddle era)?

Some other albums I would recommend, though not exactly all to your specifications... don't worry though, no Dream Theater esque neo-prog shit!

Emerson, Lake & Palmer - Tarkus + Brain Salad Surgery